Media Centre

Frank Stronach at Tattersalls

Frank Stronach: his Adena Springs operation is one of three finalists to receive an Eclipse Award as leading breeder

  PICTURE: Edward Whitaker ( 

Seventh Eclipse Award beckons for Adena

ADENA Springs, Brereton C. Jones, and Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey have been announced as finalists to receive the Eclipse Award for leading breeder.

The Eclipse finalists for 17 categories were announced on Thursday by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers And Broadcasters. The winners will be revealed at the 41st annual Eclipse Awards, presented by the Daily Racing Form and  Breeders' Cup, on Monday, January 16, at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in California.

Of the 267 eligible voters representing the NTRA, the NTWAB and Daily Racing Form, 248 (93 per cent) took part in this year's voting. Finalists were determined in each category by voters' top three selections, using a 10-5-1 point basis. Eclipse Award winners are determined solely by first place votes.

Frank Stronach's Adena Springs, which stands stallions in Kentucky, Canada, New York and California, bred 20 stakes winners during 2011 led by Grade 1 winner Game On Dude. Stronach is attempting to land the Eclipse Award as leading breeder for a seventh time.

Brereton C. Jones, who owns Airdrie Stud in Kentucky, bred nine stakes winners in North America in 2011, among them the top-class filly Summer Soiree.

Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey have enjoyed an exceptional 2011, thanks primarily to the success of their homebred sire Kitten's Joy. The Ramseys bred 16 stakes winners last season, 14 of whom were by Kitten's Joy, the leading American third-crop sire of 2011, including Breeders' Cup Juvenile Turf Fillies heroine Stephanie's Kitten.




Galileo £10,647,143
Dark Angel £3,002,972
Dubawi £2,930,466
Kodiac £2,210,150
Acclamation £2,081,325
Frankel £1,935,765
Nathaniel £1,873,963
Sea The Stars £1,865,254
Iffraaj £1,748,489
Invincible Spirit £1,654,771