Media Centre

Key figures appointed Breeders' Cup members

THE Breeders' Cup has announced the 16 individuals who will serve as Breeders' Cup members. Voting by Breeders' Cup foal and stallion nominators concluded on June 8 and the elected members, who will each serve a four-year term, include a number of key industry players.

New members include Newsells Park Stud owner Andreas Jacobs and leading American owner George Bolton. Existing members to be re-elected include Bloodstock writer Bill Oppenheim.

The 16 elected members are: John Adger, Barbara Banke, George Bolton, Jack Brothers, Doug Cauthen, Dr. Andreas Jacobs, W. Bruce Lunsford, Clem Murphy, Maria Niarchos-Gouaze, Bill Oppenheim, Dr. J. David Richardson, Don Robinson, W. Elliot Walden, Charlotte Weber, Barry Weisbord and David Wildenstein.

"We congratulate our new and returning Members to the Breeders' Cup and look forward to their distinguished service and expertise over the next four years in contributing to the growth of our organization," said Breeders' Cup chairman Tom Ludt.

The Breeders' Cup members are elected every other year by Breeders' Cup foal and stallion nominations through a proportional voting system based on the level of nominations paid to the organisation.

There are 39 elected Breeders' Cup members, who meet each July for the election of individuals of the 13-person Breeders' Cup board of directors, which oversee the running of the organisation.




King's Theatre £966,447
Presenting £915,592
Oscar £772,014
Beneficial £760,303
Milan £717,591
Westerner £562,617
Flemensfirth £517,208
Kayf Tara £484,372
Stowaway £410,997
Midnight Legend £396,669