Media Centre

Forevertheoptimist (left) beating Kohala in the Listed Bank of New York Mellon Dragon Stakes at Sandown on July 1, 2011

Forevertheoptimist (rail) hangs on from Kohala to become the first European stakes winner of 2011 for the late Verglas

  PICTURE: Mark Cranham ( 

Verglas gelding battles to Dragon Stakes success

THE recently deceased Verglas was represented by his first European stakes winner of 2011 when Forevertheoptimist - bred by Peter and Hugh McCutcheon and a relatively inexpensive 14,000gns purchase at the Tattersalls October 2 Sale by Linda Stubbs - ran out agame winner of the Dragon Stakes.

Tally-Ho Stud resident Kodiac provided the second and third home in Kohala, who gave best to the winner by only a head, and Bear Behind.

Forevertheoptimist isthe 25th stakes winner by Verglas, who died following an accident at the Irish National Stud in May. The Coventry Stakes-winning son of Highest Honor earned notoriety the hard way, siring high-class performers such as Stormy River and Blackdoun from limited opportunities in France before his switch to Ireland in 2005.

The first stakes winner out of a mare by Missed Flight, who was trained by Chris Wall to win the 1995 Sandown Mile and later stood at Wood Farm Stud, Forevertheoptimist is also the first winner out of his dam, Hankering. The unraced mare is a half-sister to four winners including Grade 3 winner Media Mogul and from the immediate family of Middle Park Stakes hero Awzaan and smart sprinter Watching.




King's Theatre £911,455
Presenting £845,161
Beneficial £702,808
Milan £659,876
Oscar £640,045
Westerner £541,350
Flemensfirth £459,709
Kayf Tara £420,404
Midnight Legend £358,793
Stowaway £354,737